A table for (more than) two

28 Jul

It’s natural to want what you don’t have, right? Well, in the case of my flat, my biggest want is a proper dining table. Don’t get me wrong, I do love my (pretty realistic) pretend Tulip table and DSW chairs (a bargain from here) very much…

…but it’s a pretty tight fit when friends come for dinner and there’s no way I can squeeze a bigger table into my already-a-bit-too-multifunctional-kitchen-come-living-come-dining room. It was inspired by this photo from my decorating bible, At Home with White:

{Polly Wreford}

Beautiful, but still compact. So, I’ve been spending a lot of time drooling over beautiful big dining rooms and collecting them together over on Pinterest. Here are some of my favourites but do hop over to this board if you fancy seeing even more.

{Via Nordic Bliss}

{Via Automatism}

{Via Vintage Chic}

{Via Room 269}

{Via En mi espacio vital}

{Via Sköna Hem}

{Via Emmas Design Blogg}

I hadn’t noticed before, but while my ideal small table is unfussy and crisp to avoid over-complicating my limited space, all of my favourite big tables are about as chunky and rustic as you can get! I wonder if I really would swap my style so dramatically if I had more room?

8 Responses to “A table for (more than) two”

  1. Helen Boyd October 29, 2013 at 10:47 #

    Hello Would you mind sharing where you got your Tulip table from as I am trying to source a smaller one like this. Thanks, Helen :)

  2. Michelle Y July 30, 2011 at 01:08 #

    What a cute little nook you have. And do you always have such beautiful flowers? I only get them for a birthday treat but these look lovely.

  3. NordicBliss July 28, 2011 at 18:50 #

    I love the colour on the wall – pale grey is one of my absolute favourites, right after white :)
    Can’t wait to see more from your home. I’m guessing you’re not renting then. Nothing like a bit of magnolia on the wall to kill inspiration…

  4. Decorator's Notebook July 28, 2011 at 12:36 #

    Aw, thanks. Believe me, the odd Photoshop effect I applied to the picture makes it look a lot better here than it does in real life. Tune in again on Friday for a sneaky peak of my soon-to-be feature wall!

  5. NordicBliss July 28, 2011 at 11:52 #

    Is that first picture from your apartment? It looks amazing!

  6. Laura Adkin July 28, 2011 at 11:51 #

    Love all these dining tables……… I also go for the large rustic look :o)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vintage Christmas inspiration « - December 7, 2011

    [...] going to take a few more years, a bigger oven and several more dining chairs before I can host Christmas but when I do I’d love the table to look like this. Classic [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

