Inside a cool coastal home

18 Aug

I don’t want to sound mean, but I think it’s fair to say that the North East of England isn’t exactly considered a Mecca of interior style. So imagine my surprise when I came across a post entitled ‘Newcastle Home’ over at The Design Files.

I’m not one for all-out coastal themed rooms, but there’s something very appealing about the natural touches and whitewashed wood here. And I really love that Moroccan style tray.

I know the pets are for life, not just for decorating, but you’ve got admit this colour co-ordinated kitten is pretty darned cute.

{via The Design Files}

Ok, so I got the wrong Newcastle. This is actually in Newcastle, Northumberland (not in Northumberland), New South Wales (not in South Wales) – a coastal town in Australia. You can see how this might get confusing!

It belongs to stylist Tim Neve, who wanted to create a sanctuary of neutral tones and ordered calm to offer relief from all the colour and pattern he’s surrounded by at work. Personally, I could do without the driftwood (just think of the dust on that headboard) but Tim’s airy palette is right up my street. I love how limiting the colour range in a room makes texture the star player, which is exactly what makes this home so appealing to me.

Could you live in this a home this muted, or do you need colour and pattern to get excited about a room?

2 Responses to “Inside a cool coastal home”

  1. NordicBliss August 23, 2011 at 18:42 #

    This is gorgeous. I could definitely live there!

  2. Kelly-Ann August 18, 2011 at 16:22 #

    wowzers!!!! who’d have thought it….in Newcastle =) a very peaceful space.

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

