Daydreams of a single girl

6 Oct

For various reasons lately, I’ve been daydreaming about moving to Paris for a spell, getting a little studio apartment and soaking up some culture.

Or maybe Berlin.

Or New York.

Or Budapest.

Wherever, a big part of my fantasy is based on the idea of a little apartment to call home. It would be small but perfectly formed with original features galore, naturellement.* In fact, a little something like this…

Studio apartment is sometimes used as estate agent speak for drab bedsit, but you could never put this sugar-coated, open-plan space into that bracket.

I love, love, love that super shiny upstand around the kitchen worksurface and the integrated shelf / extractor hood is really streamlined. Standard cooker hoods can look so ugly sometimes and this combines display and functionality perfectly. In fact, I wish I’d thought of that!

Perhaps a little shimmery wallpaper in those alcoves would make this look even prettier… and I do like a silvered mirror.

I’m pleased I’m not the only one with trailing wire issues. When will someone go on Dragon’s Den and invent wireless everything?

{Light Locations via Bliss}

This reminds me of how much I want a Moroccan wedding blanket for my bed. If I’m not mistaken, the paper butterfly collage is by Cissy Cook, although I like her White Collection best, especially the little fan design. Perhaps I could have a go at recreating one of those for that spot above my sofa?

* I’m not sure my dreams can be sustained on my pitiful GCSE language skills, do you? Apologies to any actual French speakers out there… I just can’t help myself!

5 Responses to “Daydreams of a single girl”

  1. Lynne March 16, 2012 at 20:52 #

    Not too late. I went to New York a few years ago for three months and just hung out in the West Village – I had a ball!

  2. hannah October 17, 2011 at 15:26 #

    Just stumbled across your blog and am completely in love with this apartment, I need to live there! Thanks for the inspiration! Hannah x

  3. Kate Ward October 9, 2011 at 22:36 #

    wow! what a gorgeous place :)

  4. Home House Interiors October 6, 2011 at 19:04 #

    As soon as I saw the butterfly collage I thought it would look amazing above your sofa or you could try one of the large butterfly prints from Rocket St George.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorate with sugar and spice « - November 23, 2011

    [...] folks, that’s another shimmery Moroccan wedding blanket. And no, I haven’t saved up enough to buy one for myself yet. One [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,520 other followers

