Decorate with sugar and spice

23 Nov

I’m not really into ‘themed’ rooms but I do have a couple of Moroccan-style bits at home, like this carved screen and one of these leather pouffes. I love the juxtapositions that define this look: spicy accents against sugar-white walls and elaborate geometric patterns in pared-back, clutter-free rooms. I haven’t been to Morocco (yet!) but when I do, I’d love to stay here at the P’tit Habibi Riad in Marrakesh.

Yes folks, that’s another shimmery Moroccan wedding blanket. And no, I haven’t saved up enough to buy one for myself yet. One day!

{all Riad P’tit Habibi via Travel Files}

There are only four rooms in the Riad and all have been individually decorated. I especially love the beautifully hand-painted woodwork in each one. Reproducing the trailing motifs at home would be way beyond my skill level but it would be easy to add a similar pattern with a beautiful wallpaper like this one from Zoffany or fabric like the Amanpuri design from Sanderson.

2 Responses to “Decorate with sugar and spice”

  1. Igor November 23, 2011 at 11:37 #

    Adorable – makes me want to go to Morocco like NOW!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Live like a cavegirl « - March 26, 2012

    [...] beautifully understated Moroccan Riad Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

