To do list 2012

9 Jan

I don’t really believe much in new year’s resolutions, but I believe very strongly in making lists. When I first moved into Le Flat nearly two years ago it was a hive of activity. The dark forest green spare room was given a makeover with fresh white paint and a soft stone feature wall ready for my lovely lodger to move in within a fortnight. Six months later the old pine kitchen had been ripped out, a glossy new one fitted, a dividing wall demolished and the newly open-plan kitchen/living room painted pale grey.

But since Christmas 2010 I’ve been terribly slack. Ok, there was wallpapering day, but apart from that I’ve done more or less naff all for a year. I can’t believe it’s been that long!

So, 2012 definitely needs to be a year when stuff happens. Or more specifically, when I make stuff happen. I’ve written a list in my Sort Design notebook (aptly titled ‘Progress in the Home’) that looks a little something like this…

{both Decorator’s Notebook}

Typically, I’ve started on the only fun and completely non-urgent thing on the list – I don’t even plan to decorate my bedroom until next year but there are already the beginnings of a moodboard over on Pinterest. At the moment the plan is a mix of putty, natural linen and soft heather. Who knows. That will probably all change by the time I get around to getting the paintbrushes out!

I’m hoping that publishing  my to do list here for all to see will shame me into getting on with it. Please feel free  to remind me what a bad blogger I am if you don’t see some more ‘before and after’ posts soon!

2 Responses to “To do list 2012”

  1. Mandy March 10, 2012 at 22:05 #

    Hah!

    This is SOOOOOO what my day / week / month looks like sometimes!

    Love those lists ! feel really purposeful – going places – creative – busy – exhausted – overwhelmed!

    Then I look back at my photo album for the past year and – oh my gosh! is that what it looked like last year? Wow! As an older person than I suspect you are (bought my first place in 1983), I have rather a LOT of rooms, doors, walls, skirting boards to deal with – but I’m getting there.

    Am learning to take my time and (sadly or not) I am the only one who cares / notices !

  2. myschoolhouserocks January 9, 2012 at 20:55 #

    Keep up the good work!

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,554 other followers

