Dreaming of a white wood house

11 Jan

I stumbled across this lovely Norwegian home last week – it’s the kind beautifully put together house most of us can only dream about… freshly-painted wood panelled walls, time-softened linens, handfuls of wildflowers, zero clutter, restful rooms just for guests, vintage tat galore…

I have a bit of a thing for vintage maps – this one looks lovely against the pale blue and white striped wall. Even though I don’t usually like blue!

I really like the blend of white, off-white and cream paint – casual yet thoughtfully designed at the same time.

Great use of what I’m calling ‘Fortnum’s Green‘ in the hallway. It’s one of those colours I’m becoming mildly obsessive about at the moment.

Oh, to have a colour-coded linen cupboard like this! Even Martha would be envious!

{all Liv Sandvik Jakonsen via Livs Lyst}

The house belongs to interiors stylist Liv Sandvik Jakobsen and if this style’s your bag you’ll swoon over her blog too. And as if this wasn’t enough loveliness for one woman, Liv and her husband have recently bought a remote farmhouse they’re in the process of renovating too.

I’m so pleased for her I could actually weep.

6 Responses to “Dreaming of a white wood house”

  1. Decorator's Notebook January 13, 2012 at 20:51 #

    Tee hee, I know exactly how you feel!

  2. Whimsical January 13, 2012 at 20:05 #

    I’m all packed and ready to go!!!! have you got the keys????? S.W.O.O.N!!!!!!!

  3. NordicBliss January 11, 2012 at 23:35 #

    If I ever get an old summer house on the Swedish country side (DREAM come true) I want to decorate it a lot like this style. Old, traditional, beautiful linen and creamy whites.

  4. Hannah - Ebury Home & Garden January 11, 2012 at 09:57 #

    Huge fan of the linen cupboard! In fact, the whole house is right up my street.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Soak up a Swedish summer: textiles by Gudrun Sjoden « - April 9, 2012

    [...] I think about Scandinavian style, the first things that pops into my head is white. Simple white wood houses, chalky accessories and a few natural touches. Not the dazzling array of colours and patterns [...]

  2. Another amazing Norwegian house « - January 18, 2012

    [...] wooden house, reclaimed…) yet the overall style of the homes can be so very different. While last week’s house was all about fresh, effortless elegance, today’s has a striking rustic look, with battered [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

