Sun, sea, sand & snow

13 Feb

When the hustle and bustle of London life is grinding you down, there’s nothing like wild open spaces to refresh and refocus. This weekend myself and two old friends escaped to a tiny village on the Norfolk coast for the weekend – it was the first time I’d visited the county (it’s a long way from my native Westcountry) and was blown away by how lovely it was.

And I’ve never seen snow on a beach before either!

We walked from the cottage to The Lifeboat Inn for lunch (smoked haddock risotto by the roaring fire – yum!) along the coastpath covered in snow and edged with iced dune grass.

That’s the Christmas card sorted!

Striped landscape of dunes, snow, sand and sea.

The ice-crystal-laced seaweed along the frozen tideline was so beautiful in the warm afternoon sun.

I loved how graphic the wooden sea defences looked zig-zagging through the snow as far as the eye could see.

{all Decorator’s Notebook}

On the walk back an eerie frozen fog descended and my hair actually froze… a very strange sensation I can tell you!

10 Responses to “Sun, sea, sand & snow”

  1. The Developing Photographer February 14, 2012 at 23:40 #

    The one of the sea defences is a great shot. Shame you didn’t get it on a proper camera ;-) !

    • Decorator's Notebook February 15, 2012 at 09:50 #

      You’re right… I’m regretting selling my DSLR and debating buying another one. I really want one that’s smaller than the Nikon I had though so if you have any tips let me know!

      • The Developing Photographer February 15, 2012 at 10:21 #

        Micro four thirds cameras are the new thing! Olympus have gone mad with their PEN range recently and by all accounts they take pretty good pictures.

        Personally I hate the idea of a digital viewfinder (or none at all in the case of the PEN), but if you can get used to this, the image quality competes with DSLRs.

  2. Decorator's Notebook February 14, 2012 at 12:20 #

    Marianne: you must go the the Lake District… it’s one of my top 2 places in the whole of the UK. So beautiful. You might like to look at these photos my brother took when we were there in October

    http://decoratorsnotebook.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/the-developing-photographer/

    • Marianne (@NordicBliss) February 15, 2012 at 02:33 #

      WOW! Your brother is so talented and it looks gorgeous. What time of the year would you recommend? Summertime? Or autumn when the leaves are red and yellow? (Oh and what is the other one of your top 2 places?)

      • Decorator's Notebook February 15, 2012 at 09:43 #

        I have only ever been in autumn (for the last 20 years!!!) and it is so beautiful as the bracken goes rust-coloured and the trees are turning red and yello. However, it would be beautiful any time of year I’m sure. The other favourite place is the Isles of Scilly, off the coast of Cornwall. Couldn’t be more different to the Lakes but equally tranquil and away from it all.

  3. Marianne @ Nordic Bliss February 14, 2012 at 11:14 #

    This looks lovely. I keep telling myself that I need to discover England more. So far I’ve only been to Cornwall. I really want to go to the Lake District and it looks like Norfolk is lovely according to these pictures.

  4. Decorator's Notebook February 13, 2012 at 12:32 #

    Oh yes, the ‘up the nostril’ shot. Most definitely my best angle!

  5. Katrin February 13, 2012 at 08:53 #

    Oh that´s lovely! And hello pretty lady, love the last pic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend in the Cotswolds « - April 11, 2012

    [...] Sun, sea, sand and snow Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

