Join The Room Debate!

2 Mar

Welcome back to the Decorator’s Notebook Room Debate. I have something that might be a little controversial for our perusal today.

As always, it’s easy to take part. Just have a good look at the room photo below and leave a comment with your answers to these two questions:

One thing I like most about this room is…

One thing I like least about this room is…

{via Habitually Chic}

I’ve started things off in the comments below… can’t wait to hear what you think of this one!

Have a lovely weekend.

14 Responses to “Join The Room Debate!”

  1. Sarah March 10, 2014 at 20:56 #

    I LOVE the paintings, beautiful hues and colours.
    I don’t particularly like the couch though, would look very grubby quickly :)

  2. Mandy March 10, 2012 at 00:30 #

    First impressions – I like the room’s atmosphere – it looks as though you’d be comfortable if you were invited in. Warm and bright.

    I like that it looks as though the person who lives there put the scheme together – I am so fed up with rooms that are unliveable-in mainly because the person who designed them will NEVER live in them!

    Art is a very personal thing. As a collection, they meld together very well (the beige nude over the sofa would be an exception to this rule, however). The colours in the art are cleverly reflected in the carpet and in the cushions on the sofa.

    The dark floor anchors the brightness and lightness and while the idea of a dark table to adds “weight” is right, it is too small and spindly (and the brass deer is right out of left field!) The yummy pouffe is suitably exotic with the carpet and art and colour-scheme and right-hand table works but the pink table: I agree with CASADIPIETRA – is just plain wrong – the colour MIGHT work if the size & shape were right. (And what IS that thing sitting on the pink table?)

    Overall – cosy and homely and stylish. Just a few key tweaks would make it fabulous!

    • Decorator's Notebook March 10, 2012 at 12:04 #

      Thanks for your comment Mandy-I hadn’t even noticed the weird deer thing before!

  3. Annando March 6, 2012 at 22:50 #

    I quite like the cushions, the kilim rug and the pouffe, the colours of those are quite nice. The windows and flooring are great, looks like a great light room. I don’t really mind the armchairs or the sofa, but I would loose those studs!

    For me the tables are the wrong scale for the room, they are dwarfed by everything else and seem tiny. They look like they belong somewhere else! On the right hand side of the sofa I think there needs to be a table with a greater contrast, the one that is there looks like it’s covered in the same fabric as the sofa.

    Now those walls… Not really the colour I would have chosen. They look like something that was cooked up in the eighties! I don’t really like the paintings but I suspect that they were painted by whoever lives in that house so I guess that is why they are being displayed. although I’d change the colour of the walls and display the paintings differently, they look like they were put up to hide marks on the walls.

  4. Helen March 5, 2012 at 18:06 #

    Love: The dark and glossy wooden floor and the pouffe

    Hate: The colour scheme, the art, the furniture. Its all a bit too much. It conspires to make a lovely light room seem claustrophobic and cluttered, even though it clearly is not.

    Overall, dislike.

  5. Mrs M March 4, 2012 at 21:39 #

    My mother taught me if you cant say something nice..say nothing…enough said!
    Great news on The Telegraph mention! Well deserved! x

  6. casadipietra March 4, 2012 at 11:20 #

    Like most: plenty of things: the color combination – between art, walls, cushions, rug, and what I see as wisely-chosen neutral furniture; and the apparently very pretty architecture.

    Like least: that darned purply-pink table! It’s just that one step too far.

  7. B J Quigley March 3, 2012 at 16:43 #

    Hi there.

    I like most the gorgeous colours/patterns in the cushions and the classic sofa and chairs.
    I like least the hideous pictures and their layout. I guess they were chosen for their colours, but surely they could have done better.

  8. kalynor March 2, 2012 at 11:29 #

    I would definitely loose that color on the wall, the rug and windows i like, i can imagine the room with a different color palette, a different table maybe…But on the whole i think its the walls that bug me the most! Love these series! have a nice weekend, xo

  9. Katrin March 2, 2012 at 09:49 #

    The thing I like most: The colour palette.
    The thing I like least: The colour palette.

    Very much like you, I would never choose these colours for my house. But then again, I think it works quite beautifully here.

    Happy weekend!

  10. Heather Y March 2, 2012 at 09:45 #

    Oh dear, I feel I may be destined to be very harsh this week..

    The thing I like MOST: The windows – the bare bones of this room are gorgeous. Great proportions and loads of light. There is no element of the decoration that I like other than that.

    The thing I like LEAST: Where do I start? Loathe the terracotta. Hate the furniture. And the choice of artwork and the way it’s displayed makes me shudder.

    • Decorator's Notebook March 2, 2012 at 10:29 #

      Ha ha, thanks for commenting. I think The Room Debate is so much more fun when it’s a controversial one!

  11. Decorator's Notebook March 2, 2012 at 09:32 #

    I’ve actually given myself a headache by choosing this one! It’s a real love/hate room for me so here goes!

    The thing I like MOST: the combination of the terracotta orange and hot pink. Individually I have to say I detest both colours but there’s something that’s actually quite appealing about the two together. And as a self-confessed neutral girl I have to admire a decorator with the bravery to go with colour like this.

    The think I like LEAST: the style of the sofa and those armchairs. What is with those studs??? Also the arms are too skinny which looks really peculiar and draws attention to the ghastly studs even more. Yuk yuk!

    Over to you!

    • Lynne March 2, 2012 at 17:33 #

      Like most – the dark wood floor.

      Like least – everything else. The art, colour of the walls, furniture – everything. Except, like you say, it actually looks quite good all together…

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

