Silkscreen printing snippets

19 Nov

I mentioned a little while back that I enrolled on an eight week evening class to learn the basics of silkscreen printing. I’ve only got a few weeks to go so I thought I’d share a couple of the designs I’ve printed so far.

{Decorator’s Notebook}

We’ve been working on two techniques. The pomegranate (I’ve been variously complimented by my classmates on my onions and pumpkins!) were done using simple cut paper stencils. These are easy to make but tear easily too, so you can only get a few prints from each one. The fern is done using photo silkscreen, where you expose a screen coated with a light sensitive emulsion to UV. If I carried on, I think this is the method I’d use as the image can be quite detailed and the screen can be used many times before it wears out. The photo on the bottom left is the screen itself.

Picking myself up to go to a three hour long class after a full day at work has been tough, but once I’m there the time goes so quickly and I wish I’d been able to work on more designs. There’s nothing like thinking creatively and doing something new to treat the winter blues!

5 Responses to “Silkscreen printing snippets”

  1. Michelle November 22, 2012 at 17:53 #

    Good on yer! Looks like slogging to the class after work has been worth it – very nice!

  2. Katrin November 19, 2012 at 09:26 #

    Very pretty! I once did a day long silkscreen printing class and loved it. I just found it too complicated to do it on my own so I did not further pursue it. Do you know Lena Corwin´s “Printing by Hand”? It´s a gorgeous book, I think you would love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trying my hand at pottery at West Dean College | Decorator's Notebook blog - May 14, 2013

    […] love ceramics and always enjoy having a go at new crafts, so when my friend Amy suggested we try our hand at pottery, I agreed straight away. We decided to […]

  2. Possibly the best mug ever « Decorator's Notebook blog - December 10, 2012

    [...] that Jo shares my compulsion to have a stab at new crafts… while I’ve been trying out screenprinting, she’s been playing around on the potters wheel. These wonderfully wobbly mugs are the fruits [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

