Festive foliage au naturel

28 Nov

After many years of studying Christmas decorating behaviour, it is my theory that we all fall into two camps: magpies and purists. If you’ve been reading my blog for any time at all it won’t come as a surprise to learn I’m the latter. Give me armfuls of holly and pine, a box of candles and the odd plain glass bauble and I’ll happily get to work creating a pared-back festive haven.

{via Greige Design, Blomsterverkstad, Toast, Johanna Vintage, Karen Mordechai, La Petite Cuisine, The Gifts of Life}

Are you a purist or a magpie?

7 Responses to “Festive foliage au naturel”

  1. Hannah @ Sparrow + Spark! November 30, 2012 at 08:20 #

    I think I am both! The only decoration I like to have around is the Christmas tree- but that is decorated in total magpie fashion with various ornaments and baubles collected through the years (I collect Christmas decorations). I love putting it up each year!

    • Decorator's Notebook November 30, 2012 at 09:56 #

      Sounds lovely – hope you’ll be sharing some pictures on Sparrow & Spark!

  2. Michelle November 29, 2012 at 20:58 #

    I think I am trying to decide still – I haven’t had a tree for years so think my adult self hasn’t got around to figuring it out. Definitely going shiny this year but with a minimalist stick tree and some garlands.

  3. dreamtea89 November 29, 2012 at 01:04 #

    I am a purist and my partner is a much more colorful purist and our children are magpies. It makes for an interesting holiday decor. Love this compilation!

    • Decorator's Notebook November 29, 2012 at 09:56 #

      I think all children must be pre-programmed to be magpies! I wonder when you grow out of it?

  4. Helen | Living Longingly November 28, 2012 at 22:22 #

    At the moment I’m a purist, but I have to admit that’s mainly because of my surroundings (tiny flat, no room for a tree). I have a feeling that when I eventually upsize I’ll be so excited that I won’t be able to resist going full-on magpie…!

  5. Angella November 28, 2012 at 15:34 #

    Magpie! Self admitted. I am covered in glitter from the end of November to well into the new year. Your decorating style still appeals to my inner purists. In the off season, you’d be hard pressed to find a hint of glitter or sparkles in my home. I wonder if culture has a hand in this?

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,520 other followers

