Homemade clay Christmas decorations

30 Nov

Last year I made these snowflake decorations from air drying clay – this easy to use material was a revelation to me, so I wanted to share another lovely idea with you.

{via DillyPad}

You can buy DAS air drying clay in art shops or from Amazon. To make these tree decorations you could simply roll out small sausages of clay, lay on a strip of cotton lace trim and go over with a rolling pin to impress the pattern. Make a hole in the top with a darning needle and then lay out to dry.

I’d love to know if you try them…

7 Responses to “Homemade clay Christmas decorations”

  1. Lynne November 30, 2012 at 18:31 #

    Oh, actually quite tempted by these, very pretty! And the clay isn’t expensive at all.

    • Lynne November 30, 2012 at 18:34 #

      PS Just ordered some!

  2. B-bop November 30, 2012 at 18:21 #

    Tres cute! I lilke the lace idea. Chez Larsson has some nifty ideas too: http://chezlarsson.com/myblog/2012/11/mr-mrs-clay.html. I was inspired and bought a stamping alphabet set and stamped names and messages on them for Christmas presents or tags for presents

  3. Sian November 30, 2012 at 11:42 #

    Gorgeous! I made some hearts with a lace imprint yesterday actually which I’m hoping to turn into a garland of sorts.

    I think your source for the image might be Dilly Pad on Etsy – see this link: http://www.thefancy.com/things/275401391/Set-of-Four-Lace-Icicle-Ornaments-by-DillyPad-on-Etsy

    • Decorator's Notebook November 30, 2012 at 12:42 #

      The heart garland sounds gorgeous. I do love a good garland!
      Thanks for the source – I’ll add a link straight away.
      DN x

  4. Her Indoors November 30, 2012 at 10:43 #

    Lovely – have popped on Pinterest! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A touch of glitter | Papermash - December 17, 2012

    [...] I saw these photos of Air-drying clay decorations, I clicked ‘buy’ on Amazon within seconds {it’s [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

