The Room Debate is back!

4 Jan

It’s the first week of the year is over and due to popular demand, The Room Debate is making a comeback!

As a London-dweller, the size and layout of this living room are typical of flats my friends and I are likely to live in, so I thought it would be interesting to chat about a room that might feel familiar to some of us.

grey and white living room{David Giles / The Guardian}

Made your mind up? Here’s our Graham with a quick reminder…

Joining The Room Debate is easy peasy. Just have a good look at the room photo above then leave a comment with your answers to these two questions:

One thing I like most about this room is…

One thing I like least about this room is…

Ready? Steady? GO!

12 Responses to “The Room Debate is back!”

  1. Heather January 6, 2013 at 16:27 #

    Like: The built-in shelves snd storage, the grey and the ercol chair.
    Dislike: What’s on the shelves – too clinical and no personality, and the coffee table. I like the idea of the table but don’t think it works with the clean style of the rest of the room.

  2. Karl January 4, 2013 at 18:44 #

    I used to have the Ercol chair and loved it, very comfy and looked great. I don’t mind the grey but the room could do with a splash of colour. I like the map (maps are so ‘on trend’ this year) however I feel the chimney breast needs something larger, a big mirror or picture to add character and act as a focal point!

  3. dreamtea89 January 4, 2013 at 18:18 #

    I feel the room as a whole is cold, hard, and monotonous. If they had done ‘something’ with the pallet coffee table it would have looked more appealing. They have a good base and with the right touches it can look inviting.
    I like the plant and sofa best.

  4. Honor January 4, 2013 at 18:11 #

    Like: The grey wall, the built-in shelves/tv unit/the sofa

    Dislike: The pallet coffee table – too cliched.

  5. Angella January 4, 2013 at 17:14 #

    Likes: White. Grey. There can never be too much white in a room. Or grey. This room suite my tastes fine.
    Dislikes: The lack of more greenery. There needs to be plants and lots of them….maybe on that top shelf above the fireplace that is empty? White rooms with lots of greenery are bliss.

  6. nickygrace January 4, 2013 at 15:43 #

    I like the light, the tidiness and the chair. I don’t like the grey chimney breast or anything else actually.

  7. lizziebach January 4, 2013 at 13:52 #

    I like what they have put in the fireplace and the grey chair
    I dislike the pallet table and also the art on the chimmney breast, it might be the same size as the opening below but it seems too small for the room

  8. Lynne January 4, 2013 at 13:05 #

    I like the chair, and how the room is so tidy! (Something mine will never be.) I generally really like this room.

    I think it could do with a ‘pop’ (hate that word) of yellow – and I’m not into pallets as tables – and maybe I agree with Patricia about the grey – but overall I think it’s a great room!

  9. BelfastKate January 4, 2013 at 12:03 #

    I like the floor.

    I dislike the lack of colour. A few pops of colour would take away the clinicalness (is that even a word??) – the picture, the storage boxes etc.

  10. Sian January 4, 2013 at 11:47 #

    I like the grey tones used throughout the room and the sense of light.

    I dislike the coffee table too and I find the shelves a bit overly white and dare I say it bland – more colour in the objects displayed, or even a lighter shade of grey behind would liven it up a bit.

    Glad the Room Debate is back!

  11. Yas January 4, 2013 at 11:21 #

    I second the Ercol chair! I also like the way that there’s a tiny office space, and the lamp is great.

    I don’t like the table, sure upcycling is good and all, but those kind of tables have nothing to do in a living room. I am not overly fond of the rug either.

  12. Patricia January 4, 2013 at 10:15 #

    I like most: 3 things actually – the Ercol chair, the grey linen sofa, the wooden pallett as coffee table.

    I like least: grey chimney breast for some bizarre reason as my whole house is painted in different shades of grey !

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

