La vie est belle

4 Feb

“Journalist abandons city in favour of tumbledown French farmhouse.”

One day – please god – let someone write those words about me!

French country style kitchenJust imagine cooking in a kitchen flooded with as much light as this! Despite the basic concrete floor this rooms looks so welcoming and warm. Who wouldn’t want to fling open those doors and sit down and tuck into a stack of brioche here?

French country style living roomI must admit that I still think the French do relaxed country style better than anyone. There’s not much going on in this room but it has exactly the right balance of simplicity and interest for me. The stack of nude paintings in the corner is my favourite touch.

French country style bedroom{El Meuble via Graine & Ficelle / Poppytalk}

When Isabella took on her new home it was nothing more than a weedy wasteland – today though she lives the good life doing B&B and running cookery lessons where guests can pick their vegetable and gather their eggs from the (now cultivated) surrounding farmland, while the kids can get back to nature and help out with feeding time. Even the name of the farm is perfect… Graine & Ficelle – Grain & Twine.

3 Responses to “La vie est belle”

  1. Shona @ Homestork February 4, 2013 at 17:23 #

    Gorgeous!

  2. myschoolhouserocks February 4, 2013 at 13:31 #

    Yeah I would like it if that were me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 dreamiest vintage bathrooms | Decorator's Notebook blog - April 29, 2013

    […] dresser) looks great to me. {via House of Bliss} Now, if I’m ever lucky enough to get my dream Provencal farmhouse, this is the bathroom I’d love to have there. Restful, vintage and fresh. So lovely. {via […]

Share your thoughts...