House tour: how to do ethnic style with a contemporary twist

29 May

hallway with ethnic rugs

One of the biggest changes in my tastes over recent years has been my approach to ‘ethnic’ furniture and accessories. During my teenage years I went through a big hippy phase, driving my Mum mad by wafting incense through the house and decking out my bedroom with crystals and dreamcatchers. For a long time that’s what bohemian decor evoked for me – deep, murky colours and slightly suspect embroidered textiles. Possibly with those little mirror circles attached.

So, the fact I adore this Sydney home is testament not only to how my tastes have evolved but to how – with the right curator – handmade handicrafts can look fresh, clean and oh-so beautiful in a contemporary home.

white dining room with deep pile rug

white living room with dark sofa and moroccan rug

white dining room

white bedroom with rattan wall light

bedroom with white IKEA ps cabinets

white IKEA ps cabinet in bedroom{Sean Fennessy and Lucy Feagins for The Design Files}

I just love how simply each room is pulled together. These inexpensive IKEA PS cabinets crop up in modern apartments everywhere, but teamed with the natural fibre mat, whitewashed basket and rustic wooden vase (look out for something very similar when we launch the new Decorator’s Notebook shop) this little bedroom corner looks incredibly smart, considered and expensive.

There’s just enough and never too much of anything in this apartment. I think that’s the secret to adding the warmth and charm of ethnic furniture and accessories to a contemporary home.

Homeowner Cassie runs Kulchi – check it out for more inspiration.

2 Responses to “House tour: how to do ethnic style with a contemporary twist”

  1. steve Jones September 14, 2013 at 20:27 #

    Nice colours and uncluttered rooms well fitted out……Steve

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. House tour: artist’s home with a bohemian twist | Decorator's Notebook blog - October 11, 2013

    […] stylishly comfortable house reminds me of this Sydney home I featured a while back… they both work for all the same reasons. A crisp white canvas filled […]

Share your thoughts...