Composure: my word for 2014

2 Jan

word for 2014 composure

{Photograph: Forever Amber}

If there was one word to retrospectively describe my 2013 it would be ‘flux’.

So much changed for me last year that at times my little feet barely touched the ground. Joe and I set off on our entrepreneurial journey and finally shared our plans for the Decorator’s Notebook shop at the Somerset House showcase in March. In the summer I left my career as an interiors journalist, sold my flat and moved away from my friends in London to the Westcountry to launch our new business in October. Since then, we’ve been overwhelmed by the amazing encouragement we’ve received and delighted, puzzled, challenged and overjoyed in equal measure.

Just like the best white knuckle rides, 2013 has left me exhilarated, visibly shaken and desperate to go back for more!

Since we are still only a few months into our new business venture I’m in no doubt that 2014 is going to hold similar thrills, so as much as I’d like to choose ‘settled’ or ‘content’ for my word of the year, the realist in me knows I need to opt for something a little more achievable.

That’s why I’ve selected this one: COMPOSURE.

A word that will remind me to breathe and take a measured approach to the decisions I’m likely to face. A word to help me look for the opportunity in a situation rather than feel daunted by it. A word that will encourage me to stay level-headed even while my feet frantically paddle beneath the surface.

Or so I hope… of course only time will tell but I am writing my word nice and big in places I will see daily.

Have you chosen a word for 2014 and what do you hope it will help you achieve this year?

10 Responses to “Composure: my word for 2014”

  1. Planet Penny January 4, 2014 at 10:05 #

    A good word, and a great idea, having a word as a focus. It’s made me think about my own word, I think it is ‘engagement’… more living in the moment, and engaging with actual people and events. More real world, less cyberspace! I hope 2014 brings everything you hope for, good luck!

  2. Sue January 3, 2014 at 18:58 #

    Great choice. I’ve chosen Patience as mine, I need to be more patient with myself, and my creativity as I’m considering a change of direction – only two days in but I’m already feelin the benefit of my word. I’ve blogged about it here if you want to read…
    http://suebulmer.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/my-word-of-year.html

  3. Michelle January 3, 2014 at 09:24 #

    Well you always look very composed to me. Have a lovely year!

  4. Laura :: Circle of Pine Trees January 2, 2014 at 23:28 #

    Happy New Year, lovely! Good choice of word! Mine for this year is ‘potential’. Hope 2014 is a fab one for you. xx

  5. natalie January 2, 2014 at 21:26 #

    Brilliant word Bethan! Good luck with everything in 2014. I’m still in deep consideration for my word, it may be procrastination :)

  6. chalkypaintbyrachel January 2, 2014 at 19:40 #

    Love this. Happy new near lovely-hope all’s well! Xxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. carolscreativeworkshops.net January 2, 2014 at 18:08 #

    ‘Collaboration’ will be mine – getting together with a wider group of artists & makers to set up a co-operative venture with a permanent place in which to run workshops and sell our wares. There is nothing more inspiring than being with a group of like-minded souls, all passionate about what they do, with the same goal in mind. Congratulations to you on your very successful year! Here’s wishing you many more

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook January 2, 2014 at 18:20 #

      That’s a fantastic word and it sounds like you already have lots of exciting ways to make it happen. Good luck!

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,554 other followers

