Wait! 5 ways to decorate with fairy lights all year round

6 Jan

As soon as the decorations come down on Twelfth Night it always seems to me that a previously homely house looks suddenly bare. It’s just too depressing! So whilst I don’t suggest we become strange Christmas people who never take down their tree and eat turkey 365 days of the year, I am going to wriggle free from the grip of superstition just a little by offering a few mildly rebellious ideas to enjoy the magical twinkle of fairy lights in your home, whatever the season. Will you join me?

Fairy lights over bed curtains

{via we Heart It}

four poster bed with fairy lights

{Photograph: Leela Cyd}

photographs clipped onto fairy lights

{via PB Teen}

Single string of fairy lights

{Photograph: Jeska Hearne}

workspace office with fairylights

{Photograph: Michelle Halford}

I’m also considering rebranding my Christmas wreath as “winter wreath” to avoid taking it down… or perhaps that’s a step to far?

9 Responses to “Wait! 5 ways to decorate with fairy lights all year round”

  1. Jamie S. January 13, 2014 at 15:15 #

    It is fascinating how lights can change the whole look of a room. Many people love Christmas lights lit also on other occasions and it’s very nice, even when it brights up the room for the whole year. I think these are pretty useful tips how to get festive effect using fairy lights for every season.

  2. Maria January 6, 2014 at 17:39 #

    This is JUST what I needed. We took the Christmas decorations down yesterday and I hate it. As a bit of a “twinkly light tart” I wondered how I could incorporate twinkly lights all year round. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Sian January 6, 2014 at 17:36 #

    A woman after my own heart – we have fairy lights along the back of the bench in the study which are staying firmly where they are…

  4. beachhutcook January 6, 2014 at 15:52 #

    Yes! We are also embracing the fairy light rebellion! We have one row above our bookcases in the dinning room and one row above the kitchen cupboards and they are staying!

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook January 6, 2014 at 17:48 #

      Welcome to the gang…I love the idea of fairy lights on the top of kitchen cupboards. Such a dull area otherwise!

  5. Lottie :: Oyster & Pearl January 6, 2014 at 13:41 #

    We have the same view, Bethan; I’ve declared January a month of light – http://oyster-pearl.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/a-month-of-light.html

    And the tree may be gone, but my wreath is still up. I don’t think it’s a step too far!

    • susan January 6, 2014 at 18:51 #

      let me join the club…I have loved rice lights for years…always have lights going!!!

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,553 other followers

