Riot protection, 13th century style

9 Aug

South London has been a pretty scary place to be the past day or so. With all the talk of gun violence, stolen trainers and the disenfranchised youth it’s easy to think of all this as a very modern problem. So it made me smile when I stumbled across a photo of this C13th house in Trier, Germany.

{Patrick Ahles}

Can you spot what’s strange about it? Until the 19th century when the lower doors were added, it could only be accessed through the little door on the first floor! During the day a handy ladder would be put in place but at night, the ladder could be hauled up if trouble flared in the streets below. More attractive than boarded up windows at any rate…

2 Responses to “Riot protection, 13th century style”

  1. Nadine August 13, 2011 at 10:33 #

    It is so funny to see the Dreikönigenhaus on your blog, because I grew up only a few kilometers from Trier :).

    Have a wonderful weekend, Nadine

    • Decorator's Notebook August 13, 2011 at 14:45 #

      Hi Nadine – I am so pleased to have a comment from you on my new little blog. I have been following Hertz Allerliebst for years and it is one of the things that inspired me to start blogging myself! I hope you’ve enjoyed visiting and will come again.

Share your thoughts...

