French flea market finds

11 Sep

So, last weekend I went to Lille for La Braderie – want to see what came back avec moi?

French jam jars were actually on my shopping list so I was pleased to track these down. I’m hosting a dinner party next weekend and I plan to set the table using these jars as water glasses with the napkins and cutlery inside to save space on my dinky tulip table. If you’re wondering, the linen napkins are from H&M and I picked up the monogrammed cutlery last year at Wimbledon car boot.

I already had a few old pharmacy bottles in my bathroom and had to have this French medicine advertising poster as soon as I spied it.

{all Decorator’s Notebook}

Lastly, this has to be my favourite. There were enough charming old French toys amongst the stalls that my friend and I were debating how I could incorporate a toy department into my dream of opening a little vintage homeware / florist / tea shop one day. In the meantime, I’ll have to make do with this little chap. Isn’t he sweet?

8 Responses to “French flea market finds”

  1. myfriendshouse September 13, 2011 at 23:09 #

    Oooo nice to see them in situ. Those jam jars styled up a treat and I look forward to enjoying dessert from them soon. My Mum was also admiring the little horse when I spoke to her!

  2. Michelle Y September 12, 2011 at 23:11 #

    Oh I will have to go! That horse is lovely. And might have to toddle on down to the Wimbledon carboot. I went on a Sunday once but it was pretty dire.

    • Decorator's Notebook September 13, 2011 at 08:02 #

      Lille is amazing but Wimbledon can be hit and miss. I think the most recent time I went it had gone downhill again too.

  3. Megan September 12, 2011 at 15:48 #

    Lovely finds!! LOVE that print in your bathroom so much :) x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Surprisingly fabulous Frome! | Decorator's Notebook blog - September 2, 2013

    […] as my brocanting chums began posting photos of heaps of vintage wonderment at this year’s Braderie de Lille. However, on Sunday I picked myself up, wound on my scarf (it was the 1st of September after all) […]

  2. House Tour: inside a Victorian collector’s cottage « Decorator's Notebook blog - October 10, 2012

    [...] my jumper in a heartbeat. I’m already developing a penchant for battered toys (remember my wooden toy horse) so those teeny dolls’ house chairs and little boats are calling [...]

  3. Four legged friends « - December 13, 2011

    [...] Notebook from this post} Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this [...]

  4. Friday, I’m in love… « - October 14, 2011

    [...] I am definitely NOT in love with breaking one of my lovely French jars after just one use [...]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,554 other followers

