Join the Room Debate

30 Mar

It’s Room Debate time again and this week it’s a modern Scandinavian living room up for discussion.

As always, it’s easy to take part. Just have a good look at the room photo below and leave a comment with your answers to these two questions:

One thing I like most about this room is…

One thing I like least about this room is…

{Stadshem}

I’ll kick off the discussion in the comments section… looking forward to chatting to you there.

Have a lovely weekend!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

You might also like these posts:

Add your views to the previous posts in the Room Debate series

10 Responses to “Join the Room Debate”

  1. Home House Interiors April 3, 2012 at 10:38 #

    I am a big fan of grey & yellow at the moment, so I really like the splash of yellow on the cushions and light.

    Whilst I do like this wallpaper a lot from Cole & Son, I least like it in this room, for me it doesn’t work as it’s all I seem to look at!

  2. myschoolhouserocks March 31, 2012 at 00:30 #

    One thing I like most about this room is… The wallpaper is great. I would absolutely use it.

    One thing I like least about this room is… The white floors. I think that would bug me and be forever dirty.

    • Decorator's Notebook March 31, 2012 at 16:54 #

      Thanks for your comment – I’m always in two minds about white painted floors too. I think I’d love the light, bright look when they were first done but they do show every last speck of dirt, dust and hair so I don’t think I’d have the time or energy to keep them looking nice.

  3. Marianne (@NordicBliss) March 30, 2012 at 22:00 #

    hmmmm… I really don’t like this room.

    What I like the least is the wall paper. I am not a fan of pattern when it takes over a room.

    What I like the most… hmm… maybe the white pouffe. Or the chair on the right in the picture because it adds some wood and texture.

    I don’t understand the thought behind this room. What kind of space did they try to create? There are a lot of pieces here that would look great in a different environment. Sorry.

    Oh and I think they missed the window with about 2 meters with those curtains ;)

    • Decorator's Notebook March 31, 2012 at 16:50 #

      You’re right… those curtains are completely weird! Thanks for coming and joining in with your views – I love reading what other people think.

  4. Mandy March 30, 2012 at 21:41 #

    What I like BEST about this room is that I will never have to live in it !

    What I like LEAST about this room is that it is hard and cold and unlived in. Possibly the result of trying too hard to be cool and hip ?

  5. 61star March 30, 2012 at 13:13 #

    Does nothing at all for me! Very cold, clinical and uncomfortable. Those yellow bits stick out like a sore thumb and look ridiculous. Well, you did ask…………..

  6. Decorator's Notebook March 30, 2012 at 10:41 #

    Ha ha, I love the idea that I’ll like it again once it’s out of date!

    I agree that the room feels a bit clinical – they’ve tried to add some colour and some texture with the rug but it’s not quite enough.

  7. Katrin March 30, 2012 at 10:35 #

    You should! I love this wallpaper. I know it´s everywhere but I think we´re past the hype now. :) So, what I like most in this room is the wallpaper.

    What I like least… well while nothing is actually wrong in there, I think the room is really really cold. They obviously tried to warm things up with the yellow accents, but for me, it´s not enough to make this a comfy room.

  8. Decorator's Notebook March 30, 2012 at 10:29 #

    Argh! The thing I like most AND least about this room is actually the same… that Cole and Son Woods wallpaper. I actually have three rolls of this at home dating from a time before I actually had my own flat and I couldn’t get this design out of my head. I loved it and I still really like the pattern.

    The problem is IT’S EVERYWHERE! Being an interiors obsessive as I am you become acutely tuned-in to popular trends and it doesn’t take much to put you off something you really like because all of a sudden it feels passe and mainstream. So this is such a tricky one for me.

    Should I use those rolls of wallpaper in my home or not?

    Over to you…

Share your thoughts...

