A big announcement (and an introduction)

15 Mar

So, you’ve probably noticed that it’s been rather quiet around here recently… I have a good excuse though. I’ve been working on something that’s been my dream for a long time and with the support of you – my wonderful readers – I am finally able to take the plunge and announce the forthcoming launch of the…

Decorator's Notebook Shop announcement

The concept is simple. Later this summer the Decorator’s Notebook shop will open its virtual doors to reveal a more personal and beautiful way to buy home accessories online. We’ll be weaving handcrafted and vintage products together with the stories behind them, as well as offering the styling ideas and decorating inspiration you know and love. The blog will continue as usual, with the addition of some very exciting new photography visits to some of Britain’s most talented designer-makers who will be handpicked to share their products and workspaces with us.

Which brings me onto the introduction. Meet my amazingly talented brother Joe – photographer, video maker and the man with the purse strings of our new business tightly in his grasp. We’ll be working together on all things shop-related, as well as the wonderful original photography that’s going to make this blog even better.

Those of you in London can come and meet Joe and I at the Startup Showcase at Somerset House next weekend (23rd and 24th March) where we’ll have a sneak peek of the Decorator’s Notebook collection, including a very exciting collaboration with Double Merrick (more on that to come). If you’re about it would be so much fun to see you there.

And I guess there’s just one last introduction. Me. Bethan. Your no-longer anonymous author. I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful it is to finally ‘meet’ you!

20 Responses to “A big announcement (and an introduction)”

  1. Hannah @ Sparrow + Spark! March 27, 2013 at 16:32 #

    This is so exciting! Wishing you lots of luck :)

  2. Claire March 17, 2013 at 21:15 #

    How exciting and congratulations! It’s lovely to ‘meet’ you too and good to put a face to the voice. I really enjoy reading your blog and will look forward to seeing the items in your shop too – keep us posted, I’d be happy to do a post promoting your new shop in the summer. Claire.x
    http://www.celebratecreation.wordpress.com

  3. Marianne @NordicBliss March 17, 2013 at 20:10 #

    wohoo! So exciting! Can’t wait to see the finished result :)

  4. Patchwork Harmnoy March 16, 2013 at 14:16 #

    Woohoo! so exciting Bethan! Can’t wait to see! I will have to try and come to Somerset House if I can xxx

  5. Wolves in London March 15, 2013 at 20:01 #

    Congratulations! Very exciting-sounding venture. I’ve been reading your blog for about a year or so now (after seeing it recommended in the Telegraph) and I love your aesthetic and the stunning photos you share. Look forward to seeing what I am sure will be lots of beautiful things!

    I’m hoping to start up a small shop this year too, so I feel really inspired by reading this…

  6. prettylittlepassport March 15, 2013 at 19:58 #

    Congrats! That is very exciting :) XX

  7. myfriendshouse March 15, 2013 at 14:15 #

    Ah Bethan I’m so pleased and proud for you. What a great thing that it’s all coming together and I can’t wait to have a virtual browse when you’re open. The pic of you and your brother is too cute. It looks like the cover of your folk album x

  8. Hannah March 15, 2013 at 12:28 #

    Congratulations lady! Such exciting news, looking forward to the big reveal next weekend. x

  9. Amy Cutmore March 15, 2013 at 11:57 #

    Congratulations to my lovely Bethan. I’m sure people will love getting to know you I know I have!

  10. Michelle March 15, 2013 at 11:14 #

    Yay so exciting! Can’t wait to see the new store. Good luck!

  11. Katrin March 15, 2013 at 09:39 #

    Yay Bethan! Such great news! This sounds like a wonderful concept, can´t wait to see what you´ll be doing. And I hope you are going to ship to Germany ;) Congrats again. xo

  12. Sian March 15, 2013 at 09:28 #

    Bethan! Such exciting news – can’t wait to see your collection and your features on designer/makers. Best of luck with getting everything up and running… Sian x

  13. Kate Mawby March 15, 2013 at 09:24 #

    Congratulations on coming out! Looking forward to having a sneak peek at the collection at The Startup Showcase. I have a feeling it’s going to be wonderful :)

  14. Tamsin March 15, 2013 at 09:24 #

    Gulp! Exciting news Bethan!! I’ll try and pop along to Somerset House next week, it would be great to see you! Well done on the leap x

  15. Mademoiselle Poirot March 15, 2013 at 09:20 #

    How exciting! I look forward to checking out everything you have in your shop. Wishing you lots of luck and success with it – not that you’ll actually need luck, I’m sure it’ll be great :-) Will try and come to Somerset House on that weekend xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food Week II: Whole Larder Love | Decorator's Notebook blog - June 28, 2013

    […] of The Big Smoke and heading back to rural Somerset to camp with my parents for a while and get the Decorator’s Notebook Shop off the ground. In the midst of packing up Le Flat I have started daydreaming about getting back to […]

  2. House tour: how to do ethnic style with a contemporary twist | Decorator's Notebook blog - May 29, 2013

    […] basket and rustic wooden vase (look out for something very similar when we launch the new Decorator’s Notebook shop) this little bedroom corner looks incredibly smart, considered and […]

  3. Print any photo as a polaroid: free template! | Decorator's Notebook blog - April 25, 2013

    […] my brother Joe came up with this simple method for turning some favourite digital snaps into perfect Polaroids for […]

  4. 15-minute make: nail polish marbled Easter eggs | Decorator's Notebook blog - March 29, 2013

    […] soooo much to those of you who came to visit Joe and I at Somerset House last weekend to preview our new venture. I was really touched and we loved meeting you all in […]

  5. Happy weekend | Papermash - March 22, 2013

    […] to the Startup Showcase to say hi to Bethan from Decorator’s Notebook {big plans revealed here} and Hannah from This is Your Kingdom {a lovely things to do […]

Share your thoughts...

