House tour: light and airy French apartment (with just a little colour)

23 Apr

Do you remember a while ago I posted some gorgeous details from Le Dans La? Recently photographer Melanie Rodriguez did a photo shoot there and the resulting pictures give a wonderful insight into how Aurelie’s home looks as a whole.

light and bright kitchen in French home

kitchen shelf with plant

large windows in French apartment

The windows in this place are amazing. It looks like it might be a converted factory or something. Yet another home to get me dreaming of loft living!

pink wall

wordspace with inspiration wall

pink wall and bertoia chairs

The more I see it, the more I like this dusky pink wall colour. Not something I thought I would say in my adult life. It looks rather like Calamine by Farrow & Ball. One of my personal favourite paint names… every time I think about it I can smell that smell!

chair with sheepskin

dark grey half wall

vintage framed photograph

dark grey wall with picture frames

hallway with group of paper lampshades

rustic hallway with paper light shades

Very pleasant use of dark grey in this home, don’t you think… and there’s something really quite cool about the group of paper lampshades hanging from the wooden beamed ceiling too. A touch of fun, but  in a grown-up way. The children’s bedrooms are really very grown-up too. A little too much perhaps?

dark grey kids bedroom

grey child's bedroom with string lights

{Home of Aurelie Lecuyer by Melanie Rodriguez for The Socialite Family}

What a beauty. This home is just the right blend of calming and interesting for me. For more inspiration from Aurelie’s home have a look at her blog, Le Dans La.

//

4 Responses to “House tour: light and airy French apartment (with just a little colour)”

  1. Hannah @ Sparrow + Spark! April 25, 2013 at 08:16 #

    I really love the little plates on the wall!

  2. Chris April 24, 2013 at 09:01 #

    Like you say, the dark grey looks great against that dusky shade – and puts a little masculinity into the scheme, I think!

    The children’s rooms actually remind me of a family friend’s in Germany. Used to stay there a few days each year and remember always being really jealous of the exotic-looking exposed floorboards and the fact that all the toys were made of wood!

  3. Lynne April 23, 2013 at 18:07 #

    I really love that blog! These things always inspire me to tidy up and come up with something more inspiring at home..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 dreamiest vintage bathrooms | Decorator's Notebook blog - April 29, 2013

    […] pure white tiles and soft grey painted bath. {Country Homes & Interiors} There it is, that calamine pink again. I think I actually prefer slipper baths like this to double-ended tubs… maybe […]

Share your thoughts...

