Nature in the Home… hedgerow

5 Jun

Now here’s the thing… there ain’t too many hedgerows in South London. But undeterred I set out into Crystal Palace Park armed with my secateurs and country bumpkin knowledge in the hope of finding some acceptable flora for Lou’s challenge.

pink hawthorn blossom in vintage ink bottle

flowers in vintage pharmacy bottles

pink buds in glass ink bottle

flowers in old glass bottles{all Decorator’s Notebook}

Stomping through the more unkempt areas of the park getting stung with nettles as I went, I spotted the most beautiful pink hawthorn tree. Looking more closely I saw that the buds were double-flowered and just on the brink of bursting – I was sold! Once home I popped a few sprigs into my collection of vintage ink and pharmacy bottles and got snapping in the evening glow.

After last week’s disappointment I’m much happier with my photos this week. I overcame my laziness and got my tripod out which helped a lot, and set up my little arrangement with the light coming from the side rather than face-on which gives a little more life to the pictures, I think?

Really enjoying part of this and looking forward to what everyone else has found for Nature in the Home this week!

// // //

8 Responses to “Nature in the Home… hedgerow”

  1. carolgrantham June 12, 2013 at 12:46 #

    Lovely pictures. I do have to give a shout for all the green spaces there actually are in South London though. Have you been to Sydenham Hill Woods and Cox’s Walk which are listed by Wild London and are full of wiildlife? There are 4 huge commons – Tooting Bec is 5 square miles with areas left wild as well as manicured areas for games, childrens’ playgrounds, an olympic sized lido with grassy areas in which to sunbathe and a running track nestled in amongst the woods; Clapham Common, Streatham Common & the Rookery, Wandsworth Common which also has woods & unmown parts; then there are Hornimans park & gardens, Dulwich Park, Crystal Palace Park, the golf course on Dulwich Common – I could go on, but people will lose interest in my ramblings … x

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook June 12, 2013 at 14:43 #

      You’re absolutely right – we south Londoners are really lucky when it comes to green spaces. I often walk up to Sydenham Hill woods on a Sunday morning. A couple of weeks ago it was full of bluebells… beautiful!

  2. Bungalow Blogger June 7, 2013 at 19:43 #

    Just love the last photo, well found, Katie

  3. Suzie @The view from here June 5, 2013 at 19:04 #

    Gorgeous little buds and those ink bottles – wow! Good hedgerow forage lady!

  4. Claudia June 5, 2013 at 13:24 #

    soooo pretty! love the delicate pink flowers. lovely shots also. i too was a bit stunted by the hedgerow this week

  5. charmaine June 5, 2013 at 12:02 #

    so pretty, I don’t think I’ve seen it before! lovely light in the photos x

  6. janeggg June 5, 2013 at 10:29 #

    oh i love those little ink bottles, well done you finding a hedgerow in London! get to the top of the class now! xxxx

Share your thoughts...

