City pretty… what colour is yours?

12 Jun

I found these photographs of San Francisco on the beautiful Cachemire et Soie blog thanks to Victoria. The stunning pastel colour palettes created by the architecture reminded me a little bit of The Paris Colour Project and started me wondering what the colour palette of the cities I know would be… or whether there is even one at all?

Photographs of San Francisco colours and architecture

Colours and architecture of San Francisco{all Anne for Cachemire et Soie}

I’ve never been to San Francisco but if you have I’d be interested to know if the whole city is painted like this or if it’s just little a little pocket. When I think of the colours of London my mind’s eye sees something like those Photoshopped black and white photos with just a spot of red highlighted. Grey and red… that’s the palette of London for me. Nowhere near as pretty.

What would be the colour palette of the place you live?

5 Responses to “City pretty… what colour is yours?”

  1. Hannah @ Sparrow + Spark! June 13, 2013 at 08:45 #

    I love those pics of San Francisco- perfect! It is next on my places to visit. I don’t live in a city, I live in Shropshire, so I reckon the colour palette here would have to be green. LOTS and lots of fields!

    London to me is grey. But in a good way- lots of buildings and concrete and civilisation!

  2. Anna Sparshatt June 12, 2013 at 10:46 #

    I’ve been to San Fran and I remembering it being wonderfully colourful, although the first two images must be in a little pocket as I don’t remember seeing any houses/ streets quite as cool and colourful as that. It’s a fantastic city with friendly people and loads to see and do. It’s a definite must go! :)

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook June 12, 2013 at 14:44 #

      I feel really inspired to visit after seeing these pics… and great to have your input because I was concerned it all looked too good to be true!

  3. aipheng @ thetrishaw June 12, 2013 at 09:22 #

    If San Fran is so pastel and pretty, I’ll have to check it out soon :) And London to me is more grey terracotta (brick colour) and splashes of red


  1. Food Week II: Desserts for Breakfast | Decorator's Notebook blog - June 27, 2013

    […] of the amazing looking eateries Stephanie visits are in her native US, but if I ever make it to San Francisco I will make Desserts for Breakfast my constant companion when hunting places to […]

Share your thoughts...

