Decorating dilemma: indoor olive trees

23 Apr

I don’t like house plants, I’m absolutely certain on that. So I really shouldn’t like these…

{via Just Pretty Things}

{Stylizimo}

{Vosges Paris}

{House of Philia}

Apparently olive trees are “pretty low maintenance, great for someone who likes plants that don’t mind a little neglect.” Well, that someone sounds very like me, and I already have this plant pot from IKEA stashed away which would be just right.

Somehow these don’t feel like the traditional house plants I so dislike but am I losing the plot on this one? Will it just die? Will it just sit there gathering (shudder) dust? Is it just wrong to have a tree in a two-bed London flat? Have I just got carried away with the whole gardening malarky?

I need your help on this one blog friends!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

You might also like these posts:

Starting off my teeny tiny herb garden

Winter plants for window boxes

8 Responses to “Decorating dilemma: indoor olive trees”

  1. Vaughan April 27, 2012 at 17:36 #

    I love house plants

  2. wellies April 26, 2012 at 11:33 #

    he he – I’ve seen an olive tree indoors before and thought how cool it looked! The boys been wanting me to get a house plant – I’ve had one once before – he was called Bert – he died.. this is my fear for getting them… I’m a plant murderer.

    But I do want an oliver tree!

  3. Lynne April 25, 2012 at 22:43 #

    I absolutely do not like houseplants. However, recently….. well, I’ve been thinking about getting some. I think they’re a very American thing – they seem to be popular there. I don’t know why I’ve changed my mind but watch this space…

  4. Mandy April 23, 2012 at 22:52 #

    I do like house plants – but they have to be healthy and lush! They are SO good for the air indoors – especially in a city! Whenever we move house (which has been way too often!), I notice that when the plants leave the room, it goes a little flat, it feels less alive somehow.

  5. ktaitch April 23, 2012 at 10:46 #

    I don’t like houseplants either. Not least as i can’t keep the darned things alive! I think against the cool white backdrop though these look stunning, not sure whether they’d work so well in another setting i have to say.

  6. Katrin April 23, 2012 at 09:53 #

    Ha, I´ve never met someone who shares my dislike for indoor plants. However olive trees are lovely, but I think you´ll have to have a somewhat mediterranean decor going on..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Olijfboompjes « De Huismuts - January 16, 2014

    […] Beeld//1.pinterest 2.conceptbyanna 3.atmycasa 4.seaofgirasoles 5.facingnorthwithgracia 6.gardenista 7.brittanymakes 8.aprilandmay 9.vogesparis 10.gardenista 11.mittvitahus 12.nynkekoppejan 13.decoratorsnotebook […]

  2. Would love an olive tree at home .... | protractedgarden - December 1, 2013

    […] Source […]

Share your thoughts...