Join The Room Debate!

22 Jun

I don’t think we’ve discussed a kitchen before in The Room Debate so I thought it was about time we did… and what a sunny little number I have for you today!

As ever, it’s easy to join in. Just have a good look at the photo below and leave a comment with your answers to these two questions:

One thing I like most about this room is…

One thing I like least about this room is…

{via Colorama}

Does this kitchen immediately appeal to you or did you have to look really hard to find something you like? Come and share in the comments section – meet you there!

Have a lovely weekend everyone and thanks for your comments on this and every post… they mean a lot to me :-)

8 Responses to “Join The Room Debate!”

  1. neviepiecakes June 24, 2012 at 17:57 #

    I like (love) the colours, sunshine yellow has always been a favourite.
    I dislike (am suspicious of) the chairs. They look really uncomfortable!

  2. Mandy June 23, 2012 at 21:01 #

    I love how sunny and warm this room looks. The eggshell of the cupboards is just the right amount of GLOW.

    I don’t like the floor – a bit cheap-looking (and I agree with everyone who dislikes stuff on top of cupboards)

  3. Kim Hayman June 23, 2012 at 17:06 #

    Hi all, This is an interesting one,

    LIKE – the yellow lights
    DISLIKE – the flooring and yellow cupboards.

    With plain white cupboards the yellow lights would have been a lovely feature but they now look too ‘matchy’

    Also I agree that the b&w wallpaper is a bit harsh, especially with the cushions and tray at the end of the worktop,

    I too love yellow and grey, especially the way Vanessa Arbuthnot shows them in her brochure…

    Stuff above the kitchen units – it’s a no-no but I am so guilty of doing this in my home to my shame… :-))

    Kim

  4. Lynne June 22, 2012 at 22:58 #

    Love: I like the yellow cupboards
    Dislike: I think this room is too small to carry off the cow parsley wallpaper, which i usually love (love the yellow in Ros’ kitchen) but also don’t like how they’ve tried to match it on the right hand side with the wallpaper covered boxes

  5. Patricia Gill June 22, 2012 at 10:26 #

    Like most: the wallpaper. I have the b&w Cow Parsley in my bedroom which I just love and this is very similar. I actually like the way the yellow lights look against it.

    Like least: the yellow cupboards. I do quite like a bit of yellow but I think I would get tired of it very quickly on my kitchen cupboards. Much easier to paint a wall and then it can be repainted quickly. And why is the wallpaper above the yellow cupboards – is it to make some ducting or something? Or are they wallpaper covered boxes?

  6. Katrin June 22, 2012 at 08:55 #

    Woops. No. Wrong. The wallpaper is great and the yellow kitchen is great, but not together. It all looks very 80ies for some reason. The lamps are cute though. Happy weekend!

    • Decorator's Notebook June 22, 2012 at 10:19 #

      Ha ha, I’ve rocked up late to my own party! Sorry!

      I LOVE… this particular shade of yellow although I’ve always wimped out of including it in my own home. I agree with Katrin though that putting it with black and white is a little harsh and dated. I think yellow and grey is subtler and more ‘me’.

      I DON’T LOVE… the stuff on top of the upper kitchen cabinets. It’s one of my pet hates to have things stacked on top of cupboards/wardrobes/other storage. Put the stuff inside!!!

  7. enthralledbybeauty June 22, 2012 at 08:55 #

    I love the monochromo side of the room with its floral wallpaper, black benching and variety of cushions.

    I am not sure about the “in your face” yellow, though it is very sunny and brings a great constrast to the monochrome.

Share your thoughts...