More plywood kitchen love…

1 Aug

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again… plywood kitchens are cool.

plywood kitchen cupboards

plywood kitchen{both Studio Oink via The Style Files}

See more of this dinky German apartment (including plywood bedroom) on The Style Files.

4 Responses to “More plywood kitchen love…”

  1. Chuck Derouen August 2, 2013 at 22:12 #

    Did you treat the top of the counter with anything? It looks bare in the photos. I did this a while ago, when I was a kid (only thing my family could afford growing up) and it worked well. We put a few coats of a a hard glaze over it though and then painted the counter. It came out well!

  2. Chris August 2, 2013 at 09:31 #

    Want! I love plywood furniture too; the good-quality stuff like birch ply has a great surface look, and the little veneer layers look fantastic at the ends.

    Bit dubious about using it for a worktop… presumably it’s marine-grade though.

    Any ideas what else might work as a topper for plywood cabinets? Maybe a glossy plain white resin?

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook August 2, 2013 at 09:42 #

      Hmmm, yes – not sure about a ply worktop either (although it looks ok). White resin would look great or even a square profile white laminate would work if you were on a budget. There’s a good but cheap one at IKEA with a stainless steel edge. Also concrete would rock!

      • Chris August 2, 2013 at 10:36 #

        Funny you should mention stainless steel, that occurred to me as an option just after I posted my comment. Concrete’s a great idea, too. Both would give a really cool industrial look!

Share your thoughts...