Shop tour: Folklore

23 Jul

My discovery of Folklore in Islington took a rather convoluted route – five stops on the East London line via a post on an Australian blog! Anyway, once I’d worked this out, I decided to nip out during my lunch hour and see for myself.

Folklore was started as an online design store by Danielle and Rob Reid to sell products that fit with their ethos – that better living is possible through design. The shop itself is minimal with scrapwood walls, rope and plank shelving and tables made from reclaimed beams. It has a Japanese feel, with just a couple of each item on display.

Rob and Danielle have obviously put a lot of time and care into choosing their products. Each is displayed with a little label describing its origin, facts about its designer and how it was made. I especially loved Shan Valla’s ceramic vessels cast from vintage glass milk bottles (from £35) and the heavy unbleached cotton blankets made in one of America’s last remaining textile mills (sadly well out of my budget at £195).

{all Decorator’s Notebook}

If you’re in North London it’s well worth popping into Folklore (193 Upper Street) to have a look. If not, there’s a rather lovely webshop too.

Why not share your top independent interiors shops in the comments below?

Share your thoughts...