DIY: how to make a spring flower crown

20 Mar

How to make a spring flower crown - step by step at Decorator's Notebook

Celebrate spring by making a pretty flower crown - step by step at Decorator's Notebook blog

Flower crown DIY - Decorator's Notebook blog

Make a flower crown with wild flowers - Decorator's Notebook

Wildflower headpiece - tutorial at Decorator's Notebook blog

Simple garden flower crown - DIY - Decorator's Notebook blog

It all started with a Friday afternoon twitter chat. You know the sort: when everyone’s an hour or so away from pouring their first G&T and avoiding the last few tasks they should be finishing for the week.

The conversation turned to having pictures of ourselves on our blogs. If you’ve been reading for a while, you might know that I wrote Decorator’s Notebook anonymously for the first two years, without my name, let alone with a mug shot looking out top right. There was some discussion around how posting a ‘blogger’s selfie’ can feel like a horribly awkward and self-conscious thing to do. But for me, it was actually one of the most important moments for me and my blog. Until I ‘came out’ I didn’t realise how detached I’d felt from the blogging community and how much I’d been holding back for years. The second I posted a photo of myself and wrote a proper ‘about me’ was the moment Decorator’s Notebook actually felt like mine.

One of the blogger profile pictures I like best in all the world is Michelle’s – go and check it out and see how the idea for #primaveracrowns was born! So, here’s my contribution… a simple garland of flowers from my Mum’s garden to celebrate the start of spring. Is anyone joining us? You know what, it doesn’t really matter. Because this is me, wearing my crown, on my blog. And I’m proud and happy to be here.

How to make a spring flower crown from garden flowers - DIY - Decorator's Notebook blog

DIY - how to make a spring flower crown - step by step at Decorator's Notebook blog

HOW TO MAKE A SPRING FLOWER CROWN

1 | Gather your supplies: thick wire (the rubber coated sort used for garden ties works well), some thin beading wire, secateurs and a selection of freshly-cut flowers and foliage. I used rosemary, hellebores, cherry blossom, primroses and grape hyacinths.

2 | Twist the thick wire into a circle just a little larger than you want it to be once it’s on your head – the finished crown will fit a little more snuggly once it’s filled out with flowers.

3 | Start by covering the wire with foliage. Something quite dense that comes in long stems will make this easier. Tuck the end into one of the twists in your wire then gently wrap the stems around, securing it every now and then with beading wire.

4 | This is where you want to end up – an evenly covered base on which to build. Now the fun begins!

5 | Add your flowers, starting with the bigger ones. Hold the stems in place with one hand while you secure them with beading wire with the other. If you want to get all florist-y about it you could use special wire and tape (see how here) but I find my way a lot less faff! How you position the flowers is completely up to you… I went for even spacing all the way around but something asymetric can look wonderful too. Head to my flower crown inspiration board for lots of ideas.

6 | Once your big blooms are spaced as you’d like, add in the smaller ones using the same technique, filling any gappy bits as you go.

An important note: soft-stemmed wild or garden flowers like these don’t like being out of water for long, so you’ll need to make your crown soon before you want to wear it or it will look wilted and sad! For a longer-lasting flower crown, choose blooms with woody stems like roses and eucalyptus – these will last overnight if spritzed with water and stored in a plastic bag in the fridge.

If you’ve made a flower crown with Michelle and I, please post your photos to Twitter, Facebook or Instagram using #primaveracrowns and add your link below. We can’t wait to see them!


Spring flower crown DIY by Decorator's Notebook blog

{Photographs and tutorial all Ā© Decorator’s Notebook – you are welcome to share but please do not re-post the entire tutorial and always link with love!}

20 Responses to “DIY: how to make a spring flower crown”

  1. Sarah-Lou March 27, 2014 at 21:27 #

    So beautiful, Bethan x

  2. Sian March 25, 2014 at 19:28 #

    Both crown and wearer are stunning! What a lovely spring-like post – thank you. x

  3. JensenPadda Photography March 23, 2014 at 18:30 #

    Gorgeous, and the photography is lovely as well.

  4. Claire March 20, 2014 at 16:54 #

    Really lovely photos of you Bethan, such a beautiful crown!

  5. Alison Cosier March 20, 2014 at 14:28 #

    Love the pretty garland and what a gorgeous way to celebrate the coming of spring! Photo is gorgeous too, you look lovely and it’s a good idea. I have only just added photos of myself to the blog, for me it was quite scary to suddenly reveal my face online. I think it creates a more friendly space somehow, putting a face to the blog posts is more personal and you’re right, it feels more about ‘you’.

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook March 20, 2014 at 14:35 #

      Thanks for commenting Alison – I do think with so many more blogs out there now it’s becoming quite important to have that personal feel, although it feels a bit odd at first.

  6. Made by Molu March 20, 2014 at 13:11 #

    Oh WOW – you look stunning! Totally rocking the springtime floral crown look! Definitely get your pretty face out there more! ;)

    I need to have a go at making a proper floral crown someday soon (as opposed to my fake one out felt and ribbons) Great creative challenge – thanks for that! Got to love what kind of fun you can conjure up via random banter on Twitter! :) And I’m so like you, I’ve been quite anonymous on my blog too and still stewing about fully exposing myself which may take time for me to fully embrace…. I find it awkward about posting selfies or any pictures of myself for that matter! So lets see, if like you, I’ll be brave. This floral crown post is definitely my first one!

    Thanks again for the fun challenge! Here’s to many more!! :) xx

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook March 20, 2014 at 14:37 #

      Thanks for joining us… I say if you’re uncertain about adding a profile photo to your blog then go for it! It’s nice to know who’s behind all the hard work you can see has been put into a blog and I like feeling I know the person I’m writing comments too. Get your beautiful face out there!

      • Made by Molu March 21, 2014 at 08:54 #

        hah! thanks….but yea, definitely one to think about as I’ve been toying with it for sometime. So lets see!! ;)

        Thanks again for the fun challenge!

  7. Made by Molu March 20, 2014 at 12:44 #

    Ps. I am writing this while sporting the crown! :D xx

  8. Emily March 20, 2014 at 10:56 #

    Such a beautiful crown and you look gorgeous! Thank you so much for making this happen and encouraging me to make my first flower crown. I will definitely be making more! Happy Spring xx

    • Bethan - Decorator's Notebook March 20, 2014 at 11:32 #

      Me too! It was my first flower crown too and I loved making and wearing it. Thank you for joining in with us and I’m so happy you had fun.

  9. lou@littlegreenshed March 20, 2014 at 09:01 #

    You look stunning Bethan! Absolutely gorgeous. I can’t wait to make mine later xx

  10. Michelle March 20, 2014 at 08:58 #

    Gorgeous! Glad you finally shared your lovely face (even though I knew who you were before). Yay for flower crowns and thanks for having a ‘crazy’ Friday afternoon Twitter chat with me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make a pretty floral wreath from wallpaper scraps | Decorator's Notebook blog - March 31, 2014

    […] loved creating my floral crown from garden blooms and blossoms last week but was a little sad to find it didn’t last more […]

  2. Mood of the moment… spring awakening | Decorator's Notebook blog - March 28, 2014

    […] of this time of year. I was really touched by the collective enthusiasm for making beautiful flower crowns last week for the spring equinox – crafting and wearing my crown really put me in the mood […]

  3. Welcoming springtime with floral crowns! | Made By Molu - March 20, 2014

    […] You can go stalk more on IG but here are a few links to other bloggers who participated and made some amazing crowns: Michelle, BethanĀ andĀ Emily […]

Share your thoughts...