You should put something really great here

3 Oct

Oh, how I smiled wryly to myself when I came across this photo last week:

{via Murray Mitchell}

You see, this is exactly what I think every time I walk into my living room. I present to you, Decorating Dilemma #1…

{Decorator’s Notebook}

Don’t get me wrong, I like this room a lot but I do spend an unnatural amount of time staring at that blank wall above the sofa debating what I can put there that’s going to look really great. At the moment I have this picture up as a stop gap, but I think it actually makes things worse.

{Decorator’s Notebook}

Again, I like the British Isles print well enough, although I liked it a whole lot more when I first bought it, before the world and his wife had one. It doesn’t evoke the loathing of the ubiquitous Keep Calm and Carry On print just yet, but I fear it may not be long before I have to relegate this to the back of a cupboard until such a time as I own a house with a downstairs loo. Basically, it’s too small, it’s in the wrong place and it just looks rubbish on that wall.

So, I need your help. At the moment, the options I’m mulling over are as follows, but I’m not convinced any of them are quite right.

{via Sanctuary}

OPTION 1: vintage mirror wall

It’s become one of those styling clichés but I do still like this idea. And what’s more, I already have eight perfectly nice frameless mirrors sitting in the understairs cupboard waiting for me to make up my mind and do something with them. But do we think this has been done to death? Will I make holes all over my lovely smooth plaster only go off the idea the very next week?

{Sue Knight}

OPTION 2: invest in an artwork

In an ideal world, this would be my top choice. I once styled a house with several works by Twickenham based painter Sue Knight and loved her light, airy landscapes mixing collage and oils. The problem is of course, the price tag. If I wait until I can afford something of the style and scale I really love, that wall’s going to be blank forever. Which brings us neatly on to…

{Oh Happy Day}

OPTION 3: paint it myself

I found this great tutorial on painting your own abstract canvases but I can’t help thinking it’s not going to be that easy. Knowing me, I’d get it looking passable but wouldn’t be able to stop tinkering and end up spoiling it all at the last minute. And of course, there’s the whole time factor to think about.

Never. Going. To. Happen.

{Lotta Agaton}

OPTION 4: create a display shelf

There’s something quite appealing about this – possibly the fact that I wouldn’t have to commit to any particular arrangement and could tinker to my heart’s content. Also, the way my building was carved up when it was converted means my flat doesn’t have a fireplace or alcoves so I don’t have those natural display areas you’d usually have in a Victorian home and could do with somewhere to put out my bits and pieces.

HELP!!!

{Decorator’s Notebook}

30 Responses to “You should put something really great here”

  1. alisongibb August 3, 2012 at 12:38 #

    Display shelf!

  2. Caroline June 29, 2012 at 07:54 #

    You should put a giant vintage wooden window from an old barn or kitchen overlook. White chipped paint or light brown to pop off the white walls and the rustic looking frame to sit above the sofa. I hope that doesnt sound like jibberish..

  3. whimsical October 12, 2011 at 23:28 #

    oooh how exciting! I’d go for a display shelf…….with colourful items. you can change it whenever the mood takes you then. let us know what you decide =)

  4. Kate Ward October 9, 2011 at 23:00 #

    what about buying some lovely fabric and stretching it over a canvas? that way its cheap, and easy to change when you get sick of it…… I’d love to see something bold and bright in warm colours to contrast against all the neutrals.

    What about a bright marimekko print?

  5. Michelle Y October 7, 2011 at 08:54 #

    I do like the shelf collection. Means you can tinker to your heart’s content and have a constantly changing design area. Either a good or a bad thing?

  6. Growing Spaces October 5, 2011 at 20:57 #

    My vote goes to the display shelf. I have one, I love it. I got a white floating shelf from Dwell (don’t know if they still do them) and they actually hold a surprising amount of weight so the mirror display shelf could well be an option.

  7. Decorator's Notebook October 4, 2011 at 11:35 #

    Ha ha, my friend – that wasn’t intended as an option but I’m glad you appreciate my marvellous MS Paint skills!

  8. myfriendshouse October 3, 2011 at 23:01 #

    oh brilliant! defo the scary Excorcist-style writing in the last picture. That’s so funny. If you’re interested in doing you own canvas MyFavouriteAndMyBest has had some good posts on that very thing recently x

  9. celestria October 3, 2011 at 21:11 #

    That would be nice and only 2 holes for fixing the shelf (I think).

    • Decorator's Notebook October 3, 2011 at 21:14 #

      Those mirrors are REALLY heavy though – I’d be a bit worried about a flimsy little shelf holding up. Dilemma!

  10. Decorator's Notebook October 3, 2011 at 20:44 #

    How do we feel about a shelf of mirrors? Best of both worlds?

    • Amy October 3, 2011 at 20:48 #

      Oh yes – pretty!

  11. Amy October 3, 2011 at 20:43 #

    I vote Display Shelf. You won’t be tied down to flat artwork and as it’ll be ever changing you’ll never get sick of it. I really want one myself! But don’t have the right spot at the mo…might be time for me to redecorate myself…

  12. celestria October 3, 2011 at 20:42 #

    1. I like the mirrors too, but they are not very “Feng shui”.

    2. Paint stripes either in the height or in the width, the size and the colours you like best.

    3. Stick up a lovely wlallpaper : you do that so well !

  13. NordicBliss October 3, 2011 at 14:39 #

    Here are my votes:
    1. Mirrors – it would bring some more light into that corner.
    2. Display shelf – you’re a decorator, you are going to want to make changes and rearrange

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bom humor na decoração | Minha casa, minha cara - January 25, 2013

    […] das imagens: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, […]

  2. HomeStyleFile » Blog Archive » HomeStyleFile Summer Series – Embracing Imperfection: The Art of Wabi-sabi - January 2, 2013

    […] Crumple Vase ⎜Form Function Style Crumple Cup Set ⎜Have You Met Miss Jone? Crumple Votive ⎜Distressed vintage mirrors ⎜Vipoo Srivilasa ⎜Shinichi Maruyama ⎜Duncan Meerding ⎜Kristin Hersh ⎜Byron Bay […]

  3. Stripped wood makes a comeback « Decorator's Notebook blog - November 14, 2012

    […] I moved into my flat a couple of years I went for a lot of sleek white gloss furniture combined with soft grey for the walls and accessories. I still love grey, but in my next house I think I’ll be […]

  4. HomeStyleFile » Blog Archive » The Weekend Notebook: Embracing Imperfection – The Art of Wabi-sabi - September 22, 2012

    […] Vase ⎜Form Function Style Crumple Cup Set ⎜Have You Met Misss Jone? Crumple Votive ⎜Distressed vintage mirrors ⎜Vipoo Srivilasa ⎜Shinichi Maruyama ⎜Duncan Meerding ⎜Kristin Hersh ⎜Byron Bay […]

  5. How to hang a display of vintage mirrors « - August 13, 2012

    […] collection I’ve had in the cupboard under the stairs for the last five years! Creating a frameless mirror display is harder than it looks so I thought I’d put together a little ‘how to’ with some […]

  6. Tin ceiling tiles: the answer to my living room dilemma? « - July 3, 2012

    […] the dilemma of what to hang above my sofa continues and eight months after I wrote this post the wall in question is exactly the […]

  7. The one where I impulse-buy a carpet « - May 21, 2012

    […] hunt for the perfect shade of grey paint. The kind who blogs and tweets about grand plans for their living room wall / bathroom / bedroom and does naff all about it. The kind who takes months, nay years, to choose […]

  8. Like mother, like daughter « - May 16, 2012

    […] You should put something really great here […]

  9. Light’s up, light’s up « - April 30, 2012

    […] like how it ties in with the other Moroccan elements of my living room (this carved screen and this embossed bowl) and how the detailing is intricate but still quite […]

  10. Thinking outside the box-frame « - March 26, 2012

    […] really should get around to putting something great here Share this:Like this:LikeOne blogger likes this […]

  11. Decorator’s Notebook on Flickr « - March 20, 2012

    […] you might not have seen before… plus a few extras I found while going through my laptop, like my living room […]

  12. To do list 2012 « - January 9, 2012

    […] pine kitchen had been ripped out, a glossy new one fitted, a dividing wall demolished and the newly open-plan kitchen/living room painted pale […]

  13. BEFORE & AFTER: my kitchen « - November 21, 2011

    […] the building was split into flats in the ’80s the developer carved the kitchen out from the living room with a stud wall leaving a dingy, windowless room. From the moment I viewed the flat I knew the […]

  14. BEFORE & AFTER: my kitchen « - November 21, 2011

    […] the building was split into flats in the ’80s the developer carved the kitchen out from the living room with a stud wall leaving a dingy, windowless room. From the moment I viewed the flat I knew the […]

  15. Daydreams of a single girl « - October 6, 2011

    […] This reminds me of how much I want a Moroccan wedding blanket for my bed. If I’m not mistaken, the paper butterfly collage is by Cissy Cook, although I like her White Collection best, especially the little fan design. Perhaps I could have a go at recreating one of those for that spot above my sofa? […]

Share your thoughts...