We came, we wallpapered, we conquered

1 Aug

Knock me down with a feather! Yesterday’s wallpapering was a success! Here’s the result…

Ok, so the low wall still needs painting, those ugly cables need tidying, the radiator’s a shame and I need to replace that cheap door, but aside from that I’m really pleased with how this room is finally shaping up. Even though my friend and I must have written scores of wallpapering ‘how to’ articles between us, we’re both novices when it comes to having a go ourselves. If you’re the same I recommend starting with this tutorial. We followed it to measure, match and cut the lengths…The paper is Cole & Son‘s Mimosa, which is thankfully ‘paste the wall’ so makes things a whole lot easier (and tidier). We used a mini foam roller to apply the paste to the bulk of the wall for each drop and a normal paint brush for the top and edges. Here’s my friend demonstrating the technique while I took a sneaky tea break!

As we’d managed to pick the hottest day of July for our work, we soon decided it was time for lunch. Pizza in the park anyone?

I was a bit nervous about what we’d do when we reached the dreaded radiator. Over at Yahoo answers my search for “How I wallpaper behind a radiator without removing it?” yielded some less than encouraging responses:

“Just do a botched job – who looks behind radiators anyway?”

“With difficulty”

“Almost impossible: Do yourself a favour and find a friendly plumber to remove it for you, soon, before the winter comes”

Err, yeah. Thanks.

So, there was nothing else for it. We had to make it up ourselves. Who looks behind radiators anyway, right?

If you’re interested, this is how we did it in the end:

We measured from the edge of the previous drop to the bracket behind the radiator and cut upwards from the bottom of the length to the top of the bracket. As it’s paste the wall we could do this neatly on the floor without splatting gloopy paste all over the radiator, which was a big plus.

Then we hung the top of the roll as usual, used a long handled mini roller to paste behind the radiator as best we could and carefully fed the cut paper behind the radiator with the cut strips at the bottom either side of the bracket.

Using the same long handled roller but with a dry sleeve we smoothed the paper behind and finally brushed a bit of paste along the bottom of the radiator to stick the two cut ends together. It sounds complicated but actually it was a lot more straightforward than we thought and looks pretty neat and tidy. For a botched job anyway!


{all Decorator’s Notebook}

So, there you have it. Maybe not the most professional finish in the world but it looks ok, don’t you think?

13 Responses to “We came, we wallpapered, we conquered”

  1. celestria August 10, 2011 at 19:05 #

    For me the hardest work was not sticking the wallpaper behind the radiator but removing 4 (yes four) layers of old wallpapers. The horror !

    • Decorator's Notebook August 10, 2011 at 20:15 #

      That must have been quite a task! Luckily I’m leaving that for the next owners of my flat to worry about… although if they have taste of course they’ll want to leave it just as it is ;-)

      • celestria August 14, 2011 at 15:29 #

        I certainly would ! Its gorgeous and quite my taste.

  2. myfriendshouse August 2, 2011 at 22:50 #

    Ohhhhhhh. Didn’t we do well! It looks lovely. I didn’t realise you’d snapped me mid-paste. It was a pleasure, and I’ll see you for the car boot x

    • Decorator's Notebook August 3, 2011 at 08:46 #

      Ha ha – I did consider photoshopping a paint chip face on top but thought the ladder was adequate disguise!

  3. Decorator's Notebook August 2, 2011 at 13:57 #

    Thanks Michelle, my main wish for this room to have somewhere that was completely relaxing. It’s also a very sunny room so I’m lucky I can use quite cool colours (which I find calmer) without it feeling chilly.

    Mary, yes, I’ve given a lot of thought to the option of adding an accent colour in this room. Every time though, I decide to stick to a limited colour palette and have the interest coming from subtle pattern and texture. I often add little bits of colour with flowers (did you see my earlier post about yellow craspedia and grey?) – at the moment I have some amazing coral gladioli which look great too. I do plan to wallpaper the wall over the door as you enter this room bright yellow as I’m really interested in the contrast between the vivid yellow and cool grey as you step into the room. When I get around to it!

    Thanks Louise – hope you’re still having a wonderful time down under. I’ve been following your amazing crafting on your blog!

  4. louiserastall August 2, 2011 at 08:59 #

    Well done ladies – i know where to come for my feature wall, just got to get me some walls!

  5. Mary Mansfield August 1, 2011 at 23:22 #

    I’m really impressed by your efforts!

    As someone really interested in colour, how about a splash of colour to go with your neutral scheme? The sky’s the limit as to what colour you could go for with your peaceful backdrop, but of course there’s absolutely nothing wrong with neutrals if that’s your desired aim.

  6. Michelle Y August 1, 2011 at 22:54 #

    Looks great. Your house looks so serene.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paint effects: they’re back and this time they’re on a roll! « Decorator's Notebook blog - February 20, 2013

    […] for each roller design they’re a bargain compared to designer wallpaper… although like wallpapering I bet there’s a knack to getting it […]

  2. To do list 2012 « - January 9, 2012

    […] since Christmas 2010 I’ve been terribly slack. Ok, there was wallpapering day, but apart from that I’ve done more or less naff all for a year. I can’t believe […]

  3. Daydreams of a single girl « - October 6, 2011

    […] pleased I’m not the only one with trailing wire issues. When will someone go on Dragon’s Den and invent wireless […]

  4. Foreign glass « My friend's house - August 3, 2011

    […] this, a birthday present from my wallpaper buddy. Isn’t it beautiful. And as she pointed out to me, the stamp on the bottom says, simply […]

Share your thoughts...