Or, life in the woods

19 Sep

I studied English Literature at university and one of the many books I read there was Walden by Henry David Thoreau. In America it’s pretty much a seminal work but it’s not widely read over here. If I’m honest, it’s a bit slow and preachy for me, but its core themes of a simple life, communing with nature and the beauty of solitude are all things I value enormously.

If Thoreau had happened to be Swedish rather than American, his cabin on Walden Pond would almost certainly have been this fisherman’s hut in Gotland!

{all Karin Björkquist for Lantliv}

The tiny timber hut is lit only by kerosene lamps and warmed through in autumn and winter by a traditional cast iron stove. I can just imagine snuggling up in a heavy sheepskin blanket with the smell of woodsmoke in my hair and only the lapping waves and forest creatures for company.

If you too love this simple style, click here for more rustic house tours.

3 Responses to “Or, life in the woods”

  1. Rae November 28, 2012 at 13:10 #

    Beautiful blog! I’m following you on Pinterest now just so I can collect all your inspirational collections!

  2. Kelly-Ann September 20, 2012 at 17:07 #

    yup. I like. a lot. particularly the outdoor kitchen.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shake your tail feather « Decorator's Notebook blog - January 28, 2013

    […] find myself adding more and more natural touches to my rooms at the moment… a delicate seedhead here, a crispy-dried hydrangea head there. […]

Share your thoughts...