House Tour: not your usual Finnish home

28 Mar

For reasons I won’t dwell on, I spend a lot more time than the average Brit reading Finnish interiors blogs. Despite having  the most incomprehensible language imaginable, I can usually spot them from a mile off because they almost all the homes have a remarkably similar style. Black, white, big Marimekko prints and a hit of bright yellow.

So when I came across Maria’s blog Diagnoosi Sisustusmania (Interiors Mania) I was pleasantly surprised by the welcoming vintage vibe of her lovely Finnish home.

vintage Scandinavian style living room

vintage style kitchen with exposed brick wall

Maria’s blog mainly tracks the restoration of her house and her flea market finds. I like the relaxed, non-try-hard vibe, mixing vintage bits with inexpensive high-street accessories like the cushions from H&M home. Her style feels achievable and real somehow. Styled, yes, but not contrived.

vintage dining area with painted floor

cream painted vintage kitchen unit

Maria’s clearly a dab hand with a paintbrush and there are some really cool things going on with the floors in her house. Check out the checked floorboards in the living room and this pattern in the hallway. If I’m lucky enough to have original boards in my new flat I’d love to have a go at something like this…

hallway storage painted entryway floorboards

vintage hallway storage ideas

Upstairs the bedrooms have that magical mix of warm and inviting and fresh and calm.

vintage antique bedroom furniture

cosy vintage country bedroom

And tell me… what teenage boy wouldn’t want to have an old VW campervan embedded in their bedroom wall?

teenage boys bedroom decorating ideas

vintage wooden crates as wall display storage

{all Diagnoosi Sisustusmania}

Follow the renovation diary and soak up more inspiration by clicking through to the Diagnoosi Sisustusmania blog.

4 Responses to “House Tour: not your usual Finnish home”

  1. aimskers March 28, 2013 at 10:58 #

    I love this! Painted floors aren’t that difficult! The results are so worth it.

  2. Katrin March 28, 2013 at 09:03 #

    Very beautiful indeed. I wanted to do painted checkered floors in my kitchen for ages, but it´s quite a process I believe…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. House Tour: Soviet chic in a Moscow | Decorator's Notebook blog - November 7, 2013

    […] locations. Over the years I’ve shared beautiful homes in Croatia, Canada, Switzerland, Finland and Australia to name but a few. I’d never come across anything in Russia though that […]

  2. House tour: relaxed vintage style in the Finnish countryside | Decorator's Notebook blog - August 8, 2013

    […] week the lovely Soile from Ada & Ina emailed me some photos of her pretty Finnish home and asked if I’d like to feature it on Decorator’s Notebook. One look and the answer […]

Share your thoughts...