10 dreamiest vintage bathrooms

29 Apr

When I move out of my flat in a few months time, I’m really going to miss my bathroom. Even though I much prefer showers to baths, there’s something about the freestanding tub that really adds wow factor. I think it will probably be a long while before I own such a lovely bathroom again, but I’ve still been collecting lots of vintage bathroom inspiration recently and thought you might like to soak up (boom boom) some of my favourites.

reclaimed bathroom with metro tiles and brassware{William Abranowicz for The New York Times}

So, a mirror above the basin might’ve been a more practical choice but I completely respect the owner of this East Village apartment for taking the aesthetic option. The colours in the painting highlight the reclaimed brassware perfectly. I love it.

white vintage bathroom with freestanding bathtub{Jason Busch for The Design Files}

If I was staying in my flat I’d definitely have a go at painting the outside of my bathtub. This metallic, slightly plummy grey looks really sophisticated, but I love the idea of adding a bit of punch to my pale grey walls with a vibrant coral or pretty rose pink. Maybe the new owner will decide to have a go!

bathroom with patterned moroccan tiles

{via Remodelista}

It’s the bathroom tiles I go mad for here. These patterned Moroccan tiles are perfect proof that just a little of something really luxurious can go a long way.

old zinc bathtub and corrugated iron splashback

{via Lantliv i Norregård}

You’ll definitely have spotted the trend for using building materials like plywood and OSB in interiors at the moment, but I haven’t seen corrugated metal used as a splashback like this before. Unusual… but teamed with the bare zinc tub and part-stripped wood I think it works.

period style bathroom

{Gardener & Marks}

I appreciate that rust isn’t usually a desirable feature in a bathroom, but I can’t help liking the faded grandeur of this beautifully battered rolltop. I’m not sure how much I fancy bathing on stage, but everything else (especially that dresser) looks great to me.
luxury white bathroom with freestanding bath
Now, if I’m ever lucky enough to get my dream Provencal farmhouse, this is the bathroom I’d love to have there. Restful, vintage and fresh. So lovely.
Space for a freestanding bathtub is obviously a luxury, so I wanted to include this tongue and groove panelled bath to show you can still create a vintage smart style room without one. I hadn’t thought of painting window frames in off-white paint before but I think it looks nicely subtle against the pure white tiles and soft grey painted bath.
There it is, that calamine pink again. I think I actually prefer slipper baths like this to double-ended tubs… maybe it’s those feminine curves (or the fact you don’t have to share!)
I’ve seen a lot of non-bathroom furniture used as washstands recently (including this ingenious IKEA hack). I think adapting antique pieces lends a warm ‘living-y’ feel rather than looking completely sleek and bathroom-like. If you know what I mean!
blue and white period bathroom with fireplace{sorry, unknown}
Finally, what looks like the typical London ‘bedroom into bathroom’. The dusky blue painted linen cabinet, fireplace and painted floorboards with warm rug are gorgeous.
Which is your favourite?
If you’re looking for more bathroom decorating ideas, my Pinterest board is a good place to start.
If you found my post useful, please share it! Buttons below…

2 Responses to “10 dreamiest vintage bathrooms”

  1. Mademoiselle Poirot April 30, 2013 at 11:20 #

    I so wish I had a bathroom like any one of these! The first and third ones are my favourites, though I’d happily “put up” with any of them in exchange for the one I’m stuck with… xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interior inspiration: Vintage bathrooms ideas | Bianca Wessel - February 26, 2014

    […] source: William Abranowicz for The New York Times via Decorators Notebook 10 dreamiest vintage bathrooms How to transform from outdated to vintage with a minimum budget? There’s no reason to […]

Share your thoughts...