S is for Snail Mail

15 Jun

When I was growing up, I had several pen friends and I think it’s a shame that children today are pretty unlikely to exchange letters with a friend overseas or from an old school. A text message, email or BBM just doesn’t have the excitement of a hand-decorated envelope with foreign stamps dropping through the letterbox, containing answers to questions asked weeks ago on pastel-coloured notepaper.

Aside from birthday cards and thank-you notes, I hardly ever write letters for fun anymore. Collecting the inspiring pins for today’s Pinterest A-Z reminds me how lovely it is receive something other than boring window envelopes in the post. And that’s why…

S is for Snail Mail

{Camilla Engman via my Pinterest boards}

{Hooray via my Pinterest boards}

{100 Layer Cake via my Pinterest boards}

{Creature Comforts via my Pinterest boards}

{via Sallies via my Pinterest boards}

{Sweet Paul via my Pinterest boards}

If you’ve been inspired to try making your own envelopes I think this DIY envelope tutorial at Poppytalk is the best – save different shapes and sizes when it’s your birthday and build up a stock of templates.

Come and follow Decorator’s Notebook on Pinterest for daily snippets from the world of interiors, crafting and general loveliness!

3 Responses to “S is for Snail Mail”

  1. ele June 17, 2012 at 10:46 #

    Fab ideas! I love writing to people and always think it’s nice to receive something in the post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Write more handwritten letters « - July 9, 2012

    […] the sentiment of this Pinterest A-Z post? Last week I came across this appropriate print by Mary Kate McDevitt and have really enjoyed […]

  2. Sunday Brunch | - June 17, 2012

    […] S is for Snail Mail over on Decorator’s […]

Share your thoughts...